MMS Power of the Pen Team Starts Strong at Districts

MMS Power of the Pen Team Starts Strong at Districts
Posted on 01/25/2017

MMS Power of the PenMason Middle School’s seventh and eighth grade Power of the Pen teams kicked off another promising season at the District Power of the Pen Tournament  on January 21.  The Summit Country Day School hosted the tournament with 22 schools and 275 writers.  Mason Middle School’s eighth grade team placed second, and the seventh grade team placed fourth overall.  

Writers Faye Cuasay, Kathryn Gross, Katie Maier, Ria Narang, Olivia Rui, Ann Vettikkal, and Pranav Yenugu competed on the eighth grade team; Rebeca Hefferan, Della Johnson, Aidan Murray, Gayatri Rajan, Dominic Scott, and Lauren Summe competed on the seventh grade team.

In addition to the team awards, Mason writers also earned several individual awards during the tournament.  Seventh grader Della Johnson took 6th place, Rebeca Heferan took 8th place, and Aidan Murray took 14th place.  Rebeca Heferan also won a “Best of Round” award for the number one writing piece in a particular round.  Eighth grader Katie Maier took 6th place, Kathryn Gross took 9th place, Ann Vettikkal took 15th place, and Faye Cuasay took 17th place.

Coaches Jillian Denman and Rachel Young are proud of the team’s accomplishments.  

“We are so proud of our talented writers,” Denman said. “With such a strong start to the season, we are looking forward to future tournaments!”  

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.